Revelation

This is an entry for the  Friday Fictioneer‘s hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Open to all , ready to rack the right side of the brains!.

The objective is to write a 100 (word limit is not rigid) word story based on a photo prompt.

Copyright-Claire Fuller

Revelation

Staring at his laptop screen he wondered, if it was worth attempting his own novel? Names known and unknown, belonging to varied genres filled his bookshelf on the opposite side of the room. Intimidated by the prospect of matching the sheer brilliance of successful authors, waves of questions arose in his mind. Whom shall he write like? Was he good enough? Increasingly he felt restless, each passing fraction of a second seemed like eternity. He took a deep breath, in that instant it dawned on him. “Be yourself; everyone else is already taken.”*

 

*“Be yourself; everyone else is already taken.” – Oscar Wilde

To submit you entry or check other Friday Fictioneers’ stories click the blue toad below



54 thoughts on “Revelation

  1. I agree with the sentiment. I write what comes naturally. If someone thinks I sound like somebody else then such is life. That somebody else isn’t me. I am the only me and this is how I write!

    ps. I think you might have meant to say “Increasingly” and not “increasing” om the 3rd last line…

  2. I think you captured the doubts that many authors at whatever level feel. Ultimately this is true not only for writing but for life. And even if what we write isn’t brilliant (how much really is?) if we’re true to ourselves, we’ve succeeded.

    janet

  3. Oh I can so relate to this! My self confidence is not very…confident. Sometimes though, someone will say something and I surge ahead. This as a great use of the prompt 😀

  4. If you do not write as yourself you will constantly be chasing an elusive foe. The thoughts your MC expressed are common for all authors. We just have to believe in our ability.

  5. Excellent idea. Whenever I try to write like I’m a writer, it sounds forced. When I write like I am myself, it sounds genuine. For better or worse, it’s all we’ve got!

  6. We can learn a lot about improving our craft by reading and studying the works of great writers, but ultimately, we have put words on paper and develop our own voice. This was a great little piece that captured the self-doubt of so many aspiring authors.

  7. What I liked best of this story is the drumskin-tight tension, which is the moment just before a new act of creativity, whether it be writing, painting, singing … I think you captured this well. Ann

Go on ! Say what you feel :)

