Friday Fictoneer – A Dream

This is another entry for the  Friday Fictioneer‘s hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Open to all , ready to rack right side of the brains!.

The objective is to write a 100 word story based on a photo prompt.

I found this latest photo prompt quiet challenging. This was what I came up with.

 

Genre: Fiction

Word Count: – 104 (oops!)

A Dream

Martin! It’s the most beautiful steed I have seen! Look at the beautiful surroundings. “

Aren’t you glad we came here. I can hear my voice echoing far beyond the mountain. Come let’s help him drink water.”

Annie watch out he could be dangerous.”

Oh! don’t be such a sissy. I will race you to him.” .. and that’s when my foot hit the rock and  I got hurled towards the gravel. The next instant, I woke up on the ground,beside my bed, and realized it was a dream.

Serves you right for calling me a sissy” Martin chuckled

Comments/Suggestions/Criticism are welcome !

link to other Fictoneers story here

39 thoughts on “Friday Fictoneer – A Dream

  1. I could ask where you dreamed that one up, but I shall refrain. (Or will I?) I wonder when the girls fell out of bed when they were little if they’d had a dream like this. Too late to ask.

    Happy Thursday!

    janet

      1. I have to admit there have been some weeks when I looked at the prompt, turned away and thought, “I’ll just skip this week.’ However, my subconscious objects loudly at some point and I write my story. It’s an addiction, that’s for sure. Next week is bound to be easier and you can always sleep on it. 🙂

        janet

      2. Yup my thought was to give up but then didn’t wanna cave in so easy ! But in a way prompts like this r good… I seen people come up with innovative stories! Absolutely loved reading the other stories out there !

    1. Thannks JD… It was kinda of a situation where she is telling him abt the dream… But I wanted to put that in a conversation form so that it gave the feel as a dream.. Bit confusing probably 🙂

  2. Dear Shreyank,
    Just because I choose the photos doesn’t mean that I have a clue what I’m going to write each week. A couple of suggestions to cut those pesky extra words. “Give him a drink.” and take “got hurled” and change it to “hurtled”
    At any rate, quite a disturbing dream. Nice one.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

    1. Hi Rochelle,

      Thanks for stopping by and reading my story. When I said I found the prompt tough I didn’t imply it was easier for you or the other guys ! 🙂 On the contrary I think such prompt are excellent cause they make me tickle my brain cells really hard ! Some of the other guys have come up with wonderful creative stories and have been an inspiration to me. I really enjoyed reading them ! 🙂 I appreciate you picking up the photo prompts for us.

      I am also grateful for your suggestion on my writing I will keep them in mind. Such suggestion will help me write better in future 🙂

      Shreyank

  3. The prompts are often difficult, but we claim to be writers, so we should be up for the challenge, right? I thought the dream was a nice angle, and waking up when she hit the floor was a clever ending.

  4. That was a different take on the photo prompt than most stories. The idea of the fall out of bed ending the dream is good. Frustrating for her, because now she’ll never know who won the race 🙂

    1. she fell out of bed and is narrating the incident to Martin.. i didn’t want to write in third person .. and wanted the dialogue to come out as it wud have happened in the dream.. guess i cudn’t potray it clearly !

  5. Your story reads like an episode in a bigger story, with a backstory (how and why they got there) and a story yet to come. Well done for whetting my curiosity! You might like to look over your punctuation again. Ann

Go on ! Say what you feel :)

